A New Year, A New Focus

I have decided to take this projecting into a new direction this year. My last post here was in September and there’s a reason for that: I had no more motivation to blog. The few times that I did, I kind of wondered why I was even doing it. I felt like I’d lost touch with why I started this blog in the first place: to finish things.

I’m still finishing some things. I made Mom a table runner for Christmas (paper pieced and quilted, should have got pics!). The problem is that I’m back to my habit of starting things with no plan on how to finish them and also starting more things than I’m finishing.

This combined with many other things going on in my life has caused me to change how I’m approaching getting things done. My word for this year, in all areas of my life, is: FOCUS.

I’ve picked one project type to focus on each month and that’s the only thing I’m going to work on. For example, January will be embroidery. I can only work on creative projects that are primarily embroidery. Notice that I said primarily. I may want to turn my finished item into something useful and as long as I have a plan on how and when I can do that, I’ll do it.

I’m also going to use this time to try to limit and manage my always growing stash. At some point in each month, I’m going to go through and identify any half-done projects and make sure I know what supplies I even have for that type and try to give/throw away anything that I can.

I’m also not going to worry about blogging much. I’ll do a first of the month post to talk about the focus project and then a last day of the month to talk about what I accomplished and learned. If there’s anything in between that I feel like blogging about, I will, but I’m not going to expect it of myself. Besides, blogging would take time away from my focus project and that kind of defeats the purpose. 🙂

I have two caveats (you know, because what’s a rule without an exception?). First, I’m going to allow myself to make one thing a month for Baby Girl and it can be anything, doesn’t necessarily have to fit in the with the theme. I will try to align to the goal, but if baby needs a new dress and it’s not a garment sewing month, I’m still gonna love on baby. Momma’s prerogative!

I also reserve the right to discontinue this project if it just doesn’t work! I have a feeling, though, that I’ll learn a lot from it, so I’m going to give it a full-blown try.

So, new year, new focus. January = embroidery. And we’re off!

2 thoughts on “A New Year, A New Focus

  1. It’s good to hear from you again. I like the idea of being more focused this year but I’m wondering if a month is sort of an arbitrary break point. If I tried this approach, I’d be afraid it would leave me with a lot of half finished projects. I’ve found that having a goal date for finishing a project is helpful for completion (otherwise things have a tendency to languish). Have you thought about just focusing on one project until it’s completed (whether it takes an afternoon or a month)?

    Like

    • I have thought about that, well, sort of I have. I am trying to use this as a way to help finish up old WIP/UFOs, not necessarily start new things. I would only really start new things if there wasn’t anything half done. Also, if there wasn’t time to finish a project, I’d hopefully use that time to organize/clean/purge things from the sewing room. Theoretically, of course 🙂 Either way, you’re right, it’s something to keep track of!

      Like

Leave a Reply

