Me Made May Week 1

Here’s my first outfit for the Me Made May challenge. I made this maxi skirt on Saturday from some cotton batik that was in my stash. Since I didn’t really have a pattern for it, I just made a guess at what I thought it would be, basted that together and then pinned the sides till I liked it better. I need to go back and add slits as it’s just a bit too small for a good sized step.

Other than the step size issue, I’m absolutely in love with it! This is my first maxi length skirt that I’ve ever worn and I’m a convert. 🙂 There will definitely be more in my future.

I also made the wrap, but that was so long ago I can’t even remember when. It was some where post college and before meeting my husband. That’s a window of 5-8 years. It’s a well worn piece, even though I had no idea what I was doing and the finishing on it isn’t very good. I didn’t even know there was such a thing as a double needle to do the edges so there’s some not pretty top stitching (on knit!). Anyway, I still love it and wear it pretty often.

MeMadeMay-Week1-Maxi Skirt and Wrap

MeMadeMay-Week1-Maxi Skirt and Wrap

3 thoughts on “Me Made May Week 1

  1. Nice job, Mary! I’m working my way toward participating in MMMay but this year was definitely the wrong time to try it out. I’ll look forward to following along to see how you do.

    Like

    • Thanks! Last year was the year where I watched from the side lines. At the time, I wasn’t sewing clothes, mostly just bags and quilting. Nothing wrong with waiting for the right time 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

