My 100th Post!

My new favorite purse

It’s kind of hard to believe, but I finally made it to 100 posts. For those of you that are newer, I started this blog January of 2011 so I could try to help myself get better at finishing projects by tracking weekly updates on what I worked on.

I had no idea how long I would last at it or if it would even help me. Wow, did it! I’ve not only learned to finish projects I start, but the quality and passion for what I’m doing has grown so much. At the time I started, the only thing I had really tried my hand at was knitting. Since then I’ve crocheted, sewed, learned to quilt, picked up embroidery, and as I talked about in my last post, tat. Some of my favorite finishes include a laptop bag, tote bags, a hobo tote bag (which got featured on the Ravlrey pattern page, wooot!), the Spring Chicken Sampler (which I still think I should come up with a better name for… ), and many others. It’s been a fun trip!

For this post, I thought it fitting that my next project to post was one of my favorites that I’ve done so far. As I talked about in this post, I’ve been working on a new purse and I got it finished finally. I’ve actually been carrying it around for a couple weeks and I love it 🙂

I did it as a part of the Craftsy class Design Your Own Handbag, and I’m so glad I decided to take it. The finish on this is very professional and I really don’t think I could have done it without the tips from that class.

My new favorite purse

My new favorite purse!

The class didn’t provide specific patterns for a purse (hence the name, Design Your Own). Instead she had four sample bags and they gave dimensions for those. Using that as my base point, I shortened it and did the duo-tone look.

Handles attached with rings

Handles attached with rings

Toggle closure

Toggle closure

The strap was the area that gave me the most trouble since it was very think and I hadn’t really worked with doing a strap that way before. In the end it worked out, but there was some frustration in getting it attached and getting the toggle closure put in and in the right place.

At first I wished I’d gotten larger rings so I could have done a slightly wider strap, but now I think I’m good with how wide it is. It’s a great size to carry.

Back of the purse

Back of the purse

For pockets on the inside I did a zipper pocket and small patch pocket on one side and a divided patch pocket on the other to hold cards and phone. I admit I didn’t do the greatest job on the zipper. I’m the only one who can see it now that I’m carrying it, but I wish I’d been a tad more careful with that.

Zipper and patch pocket in lining

Zipper and patch pocket in lining

Patch pocket for cards and phone

Patch pocket for cards and phone

I love this purse! Now that I’ve said that, I feel like I can admit that I’m already planning and dreaming the next one I’m going to make 🙂

2 thoughts on “My 100th Post!

Leave a Reply

