Three Block of the Months at once!

Apparently I never do anything half-heartedly. I decided that I wanted to do a Block of the Month type thing to learn new techniques, (more) practice on finishing what I’m starting, etc. Instead of picking one to try on for size, I joined three! One is good, therefore three is fantastic! Right?

The first one was through my local quilt shop, one that’s right up the road from me. That’s been a lot of fun, because they start off with show and tell and I get to look at real quilts from real quilters instead of only internet ones. 🙂

January First Saturday Block of the Month

First Saturday Jan Block

First Saturday January 2013 Block

The second one is through a group, Newbee Quilters, on Threadbias. This one is more of a bee than a block of the month, actually. I’m queen in August! The group is headed up and being run by Angela at All Patched Up. She’s been absolutely wonderful with tutorials and help for those of us who have never done an online bee before.

Threadbias

074_editedCraftsy

The third one is through Craftsy. I’m doing the 2012 one actually because, well, I didn’t know it existed before, or I would have done it then. I really like the broad variety of foundation techniques she goes over. By the time this quilt is done, I’ll have tried several new things. Sounds like a great time to me!

Craftsy Block of the Month 2012 Jan

Craftsy Block of the Month 2012 January

 Even though picking three BOM to begin with might have been a bit much at first, I think it’s totally going to be worth it. For one, I’m learning so much already, primarily about the quality of my blocks. Learning to measure as I go, when I can fudge and when I should rip out, that sort of thing.

Can’t wait to share February’s blocks!

One thought on “Three Block of the Months at once!

Leave a Reply

