Finally a Finish, One Year Later

It only took me somewhere around 365 days (give or take), but I did it. I finally finished a table runner for Mom. It’s fall themed and has some really beautiful orange colors in the fabric.

Finally finished fall table runner

Finally finished fall table runner

I blogged about it last year, a table runner as tall as me, but then the project died. Why? Because, of all the silly reasons in the world, I messed up a couple things and had no idea how to fix them. I really thought this would be a dead forever kind of thing, until a friend of mine gave me a solution and the motivation to finish it.

The long and the short of the problem was that I had decided I wanted to quilt it, but this was before I knew very much about quilting. OK, I didn’t know anything at all. I didn’t know how to go about backing and binding it. So I cut my backing to the exact size as the front. After doing that, then I realized that I didn’t have a piece of batting the length I needed. A year ago, those two things stumped me completely.

The solution? I ignored the batting and quilting completely. I simply sewed around the edges, turned it right side out and top stitched the edges. Simple. And done. Oh, and I added tassels. Just because it made me happy.

Sometimes I get so hung up on following through that I forget I can make changes, if that’s what it takes to get it completed.

Out of all this, there really two important things: I finished it and Mom likes it. Mission accomplished!

Beautiful fall table runner

Beautiful fall table runner

I’m linking up with Leah Day for UFO Sunday!

UFO Sundays on the Free Motion Quilting Project

4 thoughts on “Finally a Finish, One Year Later

Leave a Reply

