Quilts of Gee’s Bend

One day at work, I was down in the help desk getting my computer worked on. It was one of those times when I’m sitting there with the tech support guy and we’re kind of awkwardly waiting for some program or other to finished installing and we’re trying to find something to talk about with a total stranger. Somehow in the conversation, quilting came up. No, I have no idea how, but it did. He mentioned that I should check out the quilters of Gee’s Bend. Even though he didn’t know anything about it, he thought they were neat and had just heard a presentation on them. I politely said I would, with no real intention of really doing it, seeing as historical quilts don’t hold much of a kick for me. However, I had some down moments in the next few days and decided to Google it just out of old-fashioned curiosity.

I’m so glad I did! These ladies were modern before anyone else! They used wonky, improvisational quilts long before these themes were heralded on blogs across the internet. Long before the internet, even. Some of the quilts are from the late 1800’s! I found a site from Auburn University, here, that gives a good bit of information on them. If you want a good eyeful of the awesomeness of these quilts, go to Google images and search Gee’s Bend quilts (or just click here). I found an article on the Smithsonian website that gives some good history on Gee’s Bend as well as the quilts.

I hope you are as inspired by these quilts as I was and take some time to read about these fascinating quilts. 

Leave a Reply

