Quilted Tablet Case

I recently got a tablet (it’s an Android, Transformer Prime, for my fellow geeks). What’s the first thing you need after getting a new tablet? A new tablet case, of course! And should I buy one? Oh, no. I should make one of pretty fabric with padding and quilting. Yaaaaay!

Because I didn’t have any case or screen covers when I first made it, I sewed a quick flannel lining and had been carrying around my tablet in just that for a while. I know, no one’s going to accuse me of being classy. Whatever, it works. šŸ™‚

So, taking the flannel envelop I’d already made, I “measured” it, cut the batting and the outside fabric. I quilted the batting and the outside together, then made an envelop out of that. So far, so good, right?

Free motion quilting the padding to the outside fabric

Free motion quilting the padding to the outside fabric

It wasn’t until I tried to join the outside to the inside that I realized I’d done the “measuring” really, really, badly. Oops.

I managed to get all the pieces to fit together by brute force. Then I went to slide in my tablet. It was more like shoving, pulling and coaxing, not so much sliding, but it did eventually go in. Turns out, the opening was too small too.

My first thought was that I would have to redo it immediately, just to get a case that would fit. After using it for a while, however, the fabric loosed up enough to not have to fight the tablet into the case every time. I’ll still make another one that fits better, but at least this will work for now.

And it’s pretty šŸ˜€

Tablet case

Tablet case

Leave a Reply

