Monogram Applique

I had a burst of inspiration a while back on a design for a monogram of my initials. Normally, I don’t work in bursts. I’m more of a think about it, plan it, think some more, then, assuming I haven’t already lost steam by this point and moved onto something else, then I make it.

This time, however, as soon as I thought of this I started drawing it out on paper. Once I got it on paper how I wanted it, I cut it out.

Paper design of the monogram

Paper design of the monogram

I ironed on some fusible applique paper to the fabric I wanted to use. Then I spray basted the paper to the fabric I wanted to cut it out of with a removable spray adhesive.

Spray basting the paper to the fabric

Spray basting the paper to the fabric. The fabric has already been ironed onto fusible applique web

I cut out the monogram and took off the paper. Voila!

Fabric monogram

Fabric monogram

I liked doing it this way because the spray baste on the paper made it really easy to cut it out of the fabric. I didn’t have to worry about transferring the design onto the fabric or pinning it down or anything like that.

Now I just have to figure out what I’m going to use this applique on. A tote or purse? A tablet case? Wallet? Whatever I want! I just don’t know what I want 🙂

Fun Fabric Monogram

Fun Fabric Monogram

Leave a Reply

