Fun Fabric Flower

I’ve now made a couple of the cutest little flowers. They are quick and easy and cute. What more could you want? I found the tutorial on how to make it, here. I showed one last week that I made and another I made this week. Am I done making them? Oh, no. 🙂 I have so many ideas!

Two fun flowers

Two fun flowers

I’m not going to do a full tutorial, because the original blog did a great job of it all ready. However, I wanted to show what I did that was different. She gathered her petals by hand stitches and was able to get them really tightly gather in. I decided to chain stitch them on my machine with a basting stitch (yes, out of pure laziness) and I didn’t gather the petals as tightly. This means that I didn’t own a button big enough to cover up the hole. So, I had to come up with a different way to fill in the center. If you jumped over there and read her tutorial, I followed everything up until she attaches the button. From there, I do my own thing. After following her steps, I have a two layer ring of petals with stitching and raw edges showing.

Petal ring

Petal ring

The center I decided to make for  my flower is the same fabric as one of the petal colors. You could simply cut a circle, turn under the edge on the circle and sew it down, but I wanted some firmness to the fabric. So, modifying a cheater applique technique I learned the Crafty Gemini, I made a interfaced lined circle. I used heavy weight interfacing. Medium weight might work; I didn’t have any on hand to try. Light weight will not work; it doesn’t pull the edges under as well.

Taking the heavy weight interfacing, trace the finished circle size onto it. I’m sure there’s a scientific way to measure this out and figure the exact dimension of the finished circle, but I just laid the interface on the flower and traced with a removable marker.

Trace circle onto interfacing

Trace circle onto interfacing

Next, I placed the fabric for the center and the interfacing right sides together and sewed around the marked line.

Sew interfacing to fabric, right sides together

Sew interfacing to fabric, right sides together

After sewing cut the seam allowance to about 1/8″.

Cut out circle, approx. 1/8" from the sewing line

Cut out circle, approx. 1/8" from the sewing line

Then, cut a cross through the interfacing layer only. Only only only, through the interfacing layer.

Cut through the interfacing only

Cut through the interfacing only

Through that hole, turn the circle inside out.

Turn circle inside out through hole in interfacing

Turn circle inside out through hole in interfacing

Repeat this same process for the circle for the back of the flower. And voila! two fabric circles. The interfacing I used was fusible, so I iron the circles at this point. Ironing really helped thin the circle down and eliminate bulk from the seam.

Finished circles

Finished circles

From there, I first sewed the front circle onto the flower.

Sew the circle to the front center of the flower

Sew the circle to the front center of the flower

Next, I sewed a pin onto the back circle, then sewed it to the back.

Optional pin on the back

Optional pin on the back

There you have it, flower completed!

Fabric flower

Fabric flower

Leave a Reply

