Fun, Relaxing and Creative Week

I was hoping this week, being as it’s the first of the year and I’m inspired for so many projects and blog improvements as well as I had Monday off work, I was hoping to blast through lots of work. However, turns out, my hubby and I spent the week relaxing quite a bit and enjoying more than one evening celebrating his birthday. One of those evening was even planned. šŸ™‚ Our planned evening was to go dinner and ice cream on the plaza. Cold Stone, of course. The unplanned evening was only a full evening because I underestimated how long it would take me to make (and clean up from making) a chocolate pecan pie. Yes, I, the Uncook, baked a pie. It was deeeeeeeeeeeeeelicious, too! šŸ™‚

As for projecting, I did get a little bit done and I worked on the last lingering Christmas present that needs to be done. Now that I’ve missed the Christmas deadline, I’m struggling for motivation. The friend who’s getting this gift knows I’m making her something and knows it’s not done. Hopefully she’ll receive it in the Christmas spirit and forgive my tardiness.

I did some sewing on a fabric flower, which I completed, and a cathedral window panel, which is about 95% done. Both of these items will result in a tutorial in the future; the flower will hopefully be next week.

There’s one more thing I worked on this week and I’m. So. Pumped. One of the sites/person I’ve learned alot from is Leah Day and her quilting videos. She’s got a blog out there called Free Motion Quilting Project and I’ve been looking at it and trying to get my brain around attacking all the wonderful information she has there. Well, lucky me, she’s doing a Free Motion Quilt-a-long and I’m going to try my hardest to quilt along. It’s starting at the basics of free motion quilting (FMQ) and teaching the basic building blocks. Since I’ve already learned quite a bit from her about quilting in general, I’m sure I can learn so much more from her on FMQ. Anyway, I’ve got the basic block set up to start learning on. It’s a weekly thing, so I’ve got to get mine sewed up by Wednesday so I can be ready for the next week. Fun!!

(Click to view the pictures larger.)

Leave a Reply

