Saving and Spending

Last night was payday for the choir I’m in, so today was… shopping day! There were some really good Veteran’s Day sales going on and I think I managed to get a pretty good deal on what I bought. Look at all my fun new toys!

Veteran's Day purchases

The entire haul

My primary focus was fabric, as I’m wrapping up some of the sewing projects I’m working on and all the ideas I’ve had for next projects require fabrics I don’t have. I also needed yarn for a project that I’m going to see if I have time to complete before Christmas to give as a present. If I can’t (which right now, it’s not looking that way) I’ll just make it a birthday present for next year.

Buttons

My new random buttons

For the most part, I was able to stick with my two objectives. For some unknown reason, I got stuck in the button section and bought some fun but kind of random buttons. Who knows, maybe I’ll need buttons in the future.

Autumn tablerunner

Autumn tablerunner

I got fabric for three specific project. 1) An autumn themed table runner. I don’t have a pattern for this, so I got some fabric that goes together and I’ll see what pattern works with them. I like the fabric enough by itself, it may just end up being some variation on strips. Who knows?

Christmas fabric

Christmas fabric

The next fabric is sort of spoken for, but could change. I’m wanting to make a tree skirt for our small tree. My hesitation is that next year we’re planning on buying a house and I doubt I’ll be real happy with as small of a tree as we have in our new house. So, do I want to make a skirt for a tree that I don’t think I’ll be using next year or at the latest the year after that? I’m going to look at patterns for them and see if I can make one that will be flexible size-wise enough to use it for both. If I don’t use it for a tree skirt, then I have no idea what I’ll use it for, it’s just really fun Christmas print. On a side note, as far as I can remember, this is the first time I have ever bought Christmas themed fabric. For some reason, I think that’s a little sad, but I guess I just never had a reason before.

Ranges of blue and purple fabric shifting cube quilt/wall hanging

Ranges of blue and purple fabric shifting cube quilt/wall hanging

This next project is one I was really excited about. And, yes, unfortunately, I’m saying was. Not sure what changed, but as the lady was cutting the fabric out, I just kind of went, meh. Of course, this was as she was cutting out the fabric, so there was little I could do. I’ll try it and see where it goes. Basically, it’s going to be a tumbling block/shifting cube quilt. Something I am excited about it the 60 degree ruler I bought to help make all the diamonds. I’m weird, I know. Anyway, the idea and design is not really cemented in my mind, so we’ll have to see where this one goes (and when).

Material for a rainbow version of cathedral window

Material for a rainbow version of cathedral window

I don’t know that much about quilting, but I’m thinking this next project is going to a really awesome quilt. Hopefully. Anyway, it’s going to be a cathedral window quilt with black as the back and rainbow colors in the windows. Dramatic enough? πŸ™‚ Cathedral windows look like a lot of work, so I’ll see how many days months years this takes. But I’m excited about it (even after the lady cut the fabric :P). I didn’t know how much of the black fabric to get, so I got enough to start. I’ll need to figure out how much more I’ll need soon so I can go back and get more before they run out.

So that’s my (large) haul. I’m pumped about getting to dig into these fun colors!

Leave a Reply

