The “Sculpture” Outside

So this post isn’t exactly about a project I’m working on, which, if I had rules for this blog, might be against them. Fortunately, I don’t have rules for what I put on this blog (whew!). This project is actually being built outside of the building where I work.

It’s a “sculpture” and yes, I’m using the word loosely. It’s made from shipping containers. While that may not sound impressive, it’s a 7 story tall stack of shipping containers. Still not impressed? Yeah, me neither…

If you’re interested in more info about this, here’s a link to the company that’s sponsoring this with a description of the project: Grand Arts.

Here’s some pictures of the process of them building it. It’s going to be up for six weeks and then they’ll have to take it down again. It’s been a source of a lot of distraction for us office workers while they’ve been building it. What we will we look at for entertainment when this is all done? 😉

The foundation rows

This is fairly close to the beginning. As you can see, there are three rows here. It might be harder to see that there's 15 crates across.

Higher and higher

Higher and higher

Nearly done

Nearly done

The completed project

The completed project. If you can't read it, it says IOU. The other side (which I've only heard about and not seen, as I'm not about to invest enough energy in this thing to walk over and see for myself) says USA.

Leave a Reply

