New Paper Technique

During some random internet hopping recently, I learned about a new paper technique that is really pretty awesome. It’s called iris folding, but it actually has very little folding in it (depending on how you do it, anyway). It’s called iris because it’s suppose to look like and iris of a camera lens or an eye. With the colors I used, it’s a little hard to see it, but if you look close, you can see the iris effect. The end result looks like this:

Finshed Iris

The final folded iris

The basic process starts from a template. There are a huge range of templates out there from the very basic geometric bases to complicated patterns that are unique and designed for one specific shape. Since this was my first time, I stuck with the basic square pattern.

Square Iris Template

Square Iris Template

It was lots of fun to think through how the color would turn out. Also, since it’s put together with the front down, you don’t get to see the final results until it’s all done. There are so many possibilities with this: changing the colors to be coordinating or contrasting or random and crazy. In my Googling of this, I saw lots of creative things done with iris folding and each idea was unique. So much color potential!

It was easy to make and fun to do. Once I made mine, I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it. I ended up building this page around it and now it’s one of my favorite pages. Two reasons for that, one, the iris folding turned out wonderful, and two, it’s two of my favorite engagement pictures of us. Love it! πŸ™‚

True Love Page

True Love Page

One thought on “New Paper Technique

  1. Mary, this is really neat! I love paper crafting, especially making cards, and this is definitely something I can do! Thanks for sharing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

